The Seven Stages of Alzheimer’s

Posted on

Woman with early stages of Alzheimer's

Each person who suffers from Alzheimer’s will have a different experience, but most tend to go through similar stages from the first sign of the disease to the very end. Experts often use a simple breakdown of three parts: early, moderate, and end, but there are also seven stages that each person typically goes through that explain the disease in more detail. This helps both those suffering from the disease and the loved ones around them have a better understanding of what to expect, start to end.


Stage 1 - No Impairment

This is when the disease remains undetectable and the individual is still able to live an independent life.


Stage 2 - Very Mild Decline

Memory loss will start to become a small problem during this stage, but may not be distinguished from normal memory loss that comes naturally with age. Misplacing keys or losing things around the house will start to become a reoccurring issue at this point.


Stage 3 - Mild Decline

Friends and family may start noticing “less than normal” memory and cognitive problems. Physicians will mostly likely be able to effectively diagnose the Alzheimer's during this phase. They may start to forget certain words and new acquaintances as well as lose personal possessions more frequently.


Confusion on knowing what day of the week it is or even what time of the day it is may become an issue during stage three. A dementia clock is worth the small price to help them with this confusing time.


Stage 4 - Moderate Decline

There will be more apparent symptoms in the fourth stage. A person will have trouble recalling details from life events. Short-term memory loss (such as what they ate for lunch) will be more common as well. At this stage, they will not be able to manage their own finances.


Once a person reaches stage four they will require some assistance from others. To help them feel more independent, there are specifically designed products to help them do simple tasks, such as remembering to take daily medication.


Stage 5 - Moderately Severe Decline

Stage five will usually mean that the patient will need help with simple day to day tasks. They will experience significant memory loss, difficulty remembering simple things such as their address or phone number, and may even find it challenging to dress themselves appropriately. 


However, in stage five they will still be moderately functional, such as using the restroom and typically recognizing old friends and family.


Stage 6 - Severe Decline

Once someone has moved into stage six they will need constant supervision. They will experience symptoms, such as:


  • Inability to recognize people aside from very close friends and family
  • Inability to recall major events from their past
  • Assistance with bathing or using the restroom
  • Personality changes and behavior problems
  • Extreme confusion of their surroundings
  • Incontinence
  • Wandering


Stage 7 - Very Severe Decline

The seventh stage is the final stage of Alzheimer’s disease. A person who has been suffering from this terminal disease will lose their ability to respond or communicate with those in their environment. They will need constant assistance with daily activities, lose the ability to form words, and may lose the ability to chew and swallow food.


Alzheimer’s is a difficult disease to watch anyone suffer from. Keep in mind how frustrating and frightening it is for the one experiencing it, so a solid support system is vital. Knowing what the stages are can help those who have the disease and loved ones around them have a better understanding of what to expect from beginning to end. For more information on how to make life a little bit easier for someone who has Alzheimer’s disease, shop at today.

Related Posts


Leave a comment

All blog comments are checked prior to publishing

Signup for Awesome

Enter your email address for stock alerts, discounts, promotions and more!